ashtanga yoga

Przemek Keppe Ashtanga Yoga padmasana lotus

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga.

The term Ashtanga comes from sanskrit and means eight-limbs. It refers to eight folded path from which practice of Yoga is build. Physical practice of asanas is merely one of the eight limbs there are.

Ashtanga Yoga is a holistic method based on a concentrated and continued practice of asanas. The postures are connected through a strict breath count (vinyasa) connected with movement and tristhana method, which are the three elements of attention: breath, body locks (bandhas) and focus points (drishti). In the beginning student learns the sun salutation A and B, to build up the strength, flexibility and establish quality of focus. Once this is achieved more advanced asanas are added and a personal practice is established.

Correct breathing helps to take control over the practice and be more aware about the body. Drishti are the focus points for the eyes, when the gaze is unstable the mind is wandering. Bhandas are intentional contraction of the muscles in certain areas of the body. Through the application of all the focus points in the practice, within the time Ashtanga Yoga becomes a meditation in motion.

Taught according to the lineage passed on from Tirumalai Krishnamacharya, the father of modern Yoga.

“The moment I say, I am a Yogi – I am not a Yogi!”

Sri Tirumalai Krishnamacharya