ashtanga yoga


Przemek Keppe Ashtanga Yoga padmasana lotus

Ashtanga Yoga Okinawa


The term Ashtanga comes from sanskrit and means eight-limbs. It refers to eight folded path from which practice of Yoga is build. Physical practice of asanas is merely one of the eight limbs. Ashtanga Yoga Okinawa puts emphasis on all the limbs of this age old tradition.


Ashtanga Yoga is a holistic method based on a concentrated and continued practice of asanas. The postures are connected through a strict breath count (vinyasa) with movement and tristhana. Which are the three elements of attention: breath, energy locks (bandhas) and focus points (drishti). In the beginning student learns the sun salutation A and B, to build up the strength, flexibility and most importantly establish a quality of focus. Once this is achieved more advanced asanas are added and a personal practice is established.


Correct breathing helps to take control over the practice and be more aware about the body. Drishtis are the focus points for the eyes, when the gaze is unstable the mind is wandering. Bhandas are intentional contraction of the muscles in certain areas of the body. Through the application of all the focus points in the practice, within the time Ashtanga Yoga becomes a meditation in motion.


Taught according to the lineage passed on from Tirumalai Krishnamacharya, the father of modern Yoga.


“The moment I say, I am a Yogi – I am not a Yogi!”

  Sri Tirumalai Krishnamacharya